TripAdvisor Reviews

“Well prepared and tasty!” – 5 of 5 stars – We’ve dined there several times and were VERY satisfied on each visit. Our most recent visit was for a light lunch after a hike in the mountains. I ordered the smoked salmon eggs benedict and my wife had a mushroom crepe. Both dishes were well prepared. The chef obviously has some training. Salmon, asparagus, and eggs benedict over a crepe with a light sauce? Very tricky to get all those ingredients prepared correctly. My wife substituted goat cheese for the gouda that came with her crepe. Again, well prepared. Both dishes were seasoned lightly so as not to overpower the ingredients. Thoroughly enjoyed our brunch.The hostess brought out a fresh plate of muffins while I was paying my bill. Smelled GREAT! Different varieties daily. Baked fresh in the back. I’m told the chocolate chip/peanut butter muffins were killer! They also do waffles on Sunday. – RockyMtnsCO of CO, USA (Reviewed July 18, 2013)

“Delicious coffee!” – 4 of 5 stars – Stopped by for coffee with the kids. Wow! I was so surprised. The place has been modeled, the menu expanded & it was packed! The service was great though, the mocha was extra delicious, kids loves their hot chocolates & even split a delicious breAkfast. Looking forward to taking my husband to happy hour & music! – wafer16 of Denver, Colorado (Reviewed July 3, 2013)

“Love this place!” – 5 of 5 stars – If you’re looking for a light dinner or a place to hear good live music on the weekends, this is the place. The dinner menu is small but what they make is very good; crepes, salad, quiches, etc. They have local beer on tap, a decent wine selection and some mixed drinks on the menu. The staff are great, friendly and efficient. Great place to meet friends for a beer! – Mary H of Colorado (Reviewed June 3, 2013)

“Don’t Miss It.” – 5 of 5 stars – Small place with outstanding breakfast and lunch options. You will enjoy anything on the menu. Coffee is great, far better than that big chain down the road that offers burned coffee. – LateDinner of Winchester, Va (Reviewed April 8, 2013)

“Good Breakfast – Quaint Cafe” – 4 of 5 stars – I ate breakfast at the Speedtrap on the recommendation of my brother-in-law while visiting Colorado last month, and ordered ‘The Breakfast’. The meal was quite good overall, with the homemade toast and the bacon being ‘out of this world’. The only reason that I didn’t rate my breakfast a five button meal was because my scrambled eggs came out ‘soft’ in spite of the fact that I asked them to be cooked well (I absolutely HATE runny or soft eggs). I did have a chance to sample the specialized Crepe’s and they tasted great! The more customized your meal is, the better it tasted. The service was outstanding, and the atmosphere – can you say right out of Portland? This place would make any Northwestern boutique cafe proud! Overall, a good choice for breakfast. – David M of Seoul, South Korea (Reviewed April 6, 2013)

“How Charming!!!” – 5 of 5 stars – This restaurant could hold its head up high in Portland, OR where breakfast restaurants reign supreme. A delightful, intimate eatery with about 10 tables and a counter. Wonderful service and menu that tickles the imagination. Our party experienced the eggs benedict on crepes over smoked salmon with asparagus which was beautifully prepared and a mushroom, onion quiche hot out of the oven. We all licked our plates clean. Highly recommended. – Aggiesm0m of Colorado Springs (Reviewed February 22, 2013)

“Terrific breakfast!” – 5 of 5 stars – Eleven of us had breakfast there the day after Christmas, thanks to a recommendation from a friend. I’d been staying in the nearby town of Monument at a relative’s house for the Holidays. Palmer Lake is off the beaten track, a 10-15 minute drive west of the I-25 between Denver and Colorado Springs. IF you find yourself in this neck of the woods, Speed Trap is a worthy breakfast spot. My wife absolutely LOVED the mushroom and smoked Gouda crepe; large portion and $9. I had the Basic Breakfast (eggs, bacon, a slice of pie shaped cheese potatoes, and toast); all excellent and only $5.95. I know my choice sounds prey basic fare. It was, but each item was perfect. The coffee was a cut above, and our server was on the ball. The main reason I’m posting this review is because of my wife’s raving about her crepe. I’m sure she’ll insist on eating there every time we visit our relatives in Monument. – TwoMillionMiles of Los Angeles (Reviewed December 27, 2012)

“Fun place to enjoy a cuppa or light meal.” – 4 of 5 stars – The cozy coffee shop that turns into a great little hang out for a light meal and live music as the day progresses is a nice addition to Palmer Lake. Good coffee some baked goods in a small town atmosphere, not a national chain makes it special. – ReidArnold of Palmer Lake, Colorado (Reviewed November 30, 2012)

“A little bit of Montreal surrounded by the charm and beauty of Palmer Lake” – 5 of 5 stars – I just read the review of “coffee not very good” and had to laugh out loud! As a local who frequents this marvelous and continually and consistently exceptional cafe, I know that the coffee beans actually come from Serrano’s — part of the local support and community this wonderful gem of a restaurant provides. But just calling this a coffee shop doesn’t do it justice. Where else can you find such marvelous crepes (breakfast, lunch and dinner options), some of the best French onion soup I’ve ever had, the Speedtrap salad (complete with maple vinaigrette, blue cheese, bacon and cranberries) and a surprisingly well-stocked bar? It would be hard to pick my favorite dish there — is it the crepes Eggs Benedict or the simply amazing Sunday waffles? The bratwurst crepe or the mushroom gouda? The breakfast mimosas on Sunday? The chocolate croissant or the homemade muffins? It’s no wonder this fabulous little gem, under the ownership/management of a gorgeous French Canadian named Caroline, draws so, so, so many locals and repeat customers that getting a seat on Sunday morning in particular can be a challenge — but WORTH the wait, and after all, you get to enjoy one of the most lovely and panoramic scenes in all of southern Colorado. And the coffee? Well. most people clamor for a second cup…enough said! If you haven’t eaten here, do so right away. – Karen S. of Palmer Lake, Colorado (Reviewed October 22, 2012)

“Good Lunch” – 4 of 5 stars – I stop by the Speed Trap to get coffee. I finally tried them for lunch because it was recommended. It was very good! I just got the sweet potato soup and a salad. It was really awesome. Both were served very elegantly….so don’t let the looks of the place influence you. I actually DO like the look of the place. I like that it’s a great little hole in the wall. They have some really cool events, too. – ja28 of Colorado Springs (Reviewed October 2, 2012)

“Fabulous breakfast!” – 5 of 5 stars – We stoppped here after hiking in the Spruce Mt. open space. Besides yummy coffee drinks (nutella latte!) there are many breakfast options. The egg sandwich contained perfectly scrambled eggs with cheese—it was great… – Peggy M. of Northglenn, Colorado (Reviewed September 26, 2012)

“Always a good place for drinks and relaxation” – 5 of 5 stars – The Speed Trap coffee house has been open for several years. It’s not close to my house but is on my weekend “route” when I ride my motorcycles or drive my car. It’s in the little town of Palmer Lake. I normally stop in to get a Latte or a muffin or both. The Barista is always well trained and produces a great product. Dropped in last week after not being in for a few months (winter here in Colorado) and the place has changed ownership. But the product was as good as ever and the barista and his machine are right in front of the horseshoe shaped bar so you can watch the product being made. Of course free WiFi and good muffins. It’s nice to get away from the Starbucks just 3 miles down the road in Monument which is always so busy. I prefer the quiet and “local” nature of this places. Closes early afternoon on Sat and Sun so I sometimes miss it when I pass through. – COS_Traveller of Sudbury, Massachusetts (Reviewed April 19, 2012)

“Great Little Coffee Joint, you won’t be disappointed!” – 5 of 5 stars – What a find in the little town of Palmer Lake! This is a funky little coffee shop/bar right off the main road. We got there just as they were closing on a sunday afternoon, but still allowed us in and served us. The owner was wonderful. Very accomodating, she took the time to talk with us despite trying to clean up and head out. The coffee was great and the food was good too. The blueberry muffins are homemade and were warmed perfectly. The wedding cookies were excellent as well. There is music in the evenings, so we may be back for that! – peakrangerinco of Colorado (Reviewed December 23, 2011)

Yelp Reviews

5.0 STAR RATING – No way! This place is awesome! I keep kicking myself for not visiting cool places and Speed Trap was the hardest kicking I’ve given myself in a long time. My wife and I dropped by to grab coffee and wished we were staying for breakfast. As we waited, plate after plate of amazing looking food was being delivered to the packed house. – Tim K of Monument, CO (4/15/13)

5.0 STAR RATING – I got the chance to eat at the Speedtrap while on vacation visiting family. One of my favorite coffee places i’ve ever been to and the food is amazing. I had a crepe with bacon and eggs and it was amazing, made me want to open up a speed trap in my home town. – Oz W. of Huntington Beach, CA (4/10/2013)

5.0 STAR RATING – The Speedtrap has wonderful food! Some of the best French Onion Soup that I have ever had, the crepes are delicious, and nice local beers! Don’t forget the live music on Friday and Saturday! Skip the chains and take a ride to Palmer Lake, you won’t want to leave. – Jason M. of Colorado Springs, CO (2/20/2013)

4.0 STAR RATING – Fun place. Great scone/cookie. Eggs Benedict on crepes. Gotta go here if you’re there. – Steve P. of Manhattan, NY (2/16/2013)

4.0 STAR RATING – LOVE LOVE LOVE this place! Someone we know recommended it, and very glad we decided to give it a try! The place is pretty small, crowded on a Sunday morning (of course!) and has a funky/indie vibe to it, which is something almost “refreshing” in this quiet little town. Our server was so friendly that you can’t really get mad when we learned that many of the items we wanted ran out. The food itself, probably was among the top of my favorite brunch places in the other major cities I’ve lived in (San Francisco bay area, Philly). Our group shared the quiche, french toast, crepe (?), and a classic brunch plate–loved everything. Even the side bacon was done just right. My favorite item of them all was the Nutella latte though. Will definitely go back again to try out some of their pastry items. – Sharon C. of Colorado Springs, CO (12/20/2012)

5.0 STAR RATING – New owner has enlarged the space, renovated just enough, and added to the menu. Great experience every time I’ve been in since she took over. Nice cozy low-key place to have a beer or glass of wine and listen to some live music. – Chris T. of Monument, CO (10/14/2012)

5.0 STAR RATING – As a recently relocated locavore to the area I was very pleased to find the Speed Trap. This place is an excellent destination to stray off the heavily trodden path with your Harley, Ferrari, Hyundai, mountain bike, or best pair of running shoes. The food is excellent, as is the locally roasted Serrano’s espresso that they skillfully extract from their espresso machine. On top of the artfully crafted food and drinks, I was here the day that the health department dropped in for an impromptu inspection and the Speed Trap passed with flying colors. So not only is the food tasty, but the kitchen is clean on top of that. – Luke D. of Larkspur, CO (10/14/2012)

5.0 STAR RATING – Wow, what a great place. Stopped while biking through from Roller Coaster Rd. Very biker friendly and healthy fare. Coffee was awesome too. – Tim Z. of Grafton, WI (6/16/2012)

5.0 STAR RATING – Thank you, Caroline, for turning the Speed Trap in the little town of Palmer Lake into a destination worth driving to from anywhere in Colorado! Crepes, quiches, scrumptious soups from scratch, all made with fresh, tasty ingredients. I LOVE this place. Music on Thurs, Fri, Sat, great coffees and booze to boot. You just can’t go wrong making a stop here. Chris C. of Larkspur, CO (6/15/2012)

Urbanspoon Reviews

93%, 27 Likes

Yummy! – Everything I have had at The Speedtrap has been wonderful! My husband has voted their Eggs Benedict to be his favorite. You can’t go wrong with this place! – pookie from Colorado Springs (Review: Aug 31, 2012)

Excellent food and drinks – Check out this place since the new ownership!! Great food, live music and local flavor. Salads, French Onion soup, and the crepes are wonderful. – MonumentLocal from Colorado Springs (Review: Aug 29, 2012)

Yahoo US Local Reviews

5 Stars – Great place to get a great cup of coffee. I ve never been disappointed with the beverages, food or the service! I love the atmosphere and the people that work and hang out there!! – Lisa L (05/07/12)

Google+ Reviews

Excellent – Took the whole family in morning and we all enjoyed the delicious food and awesome expresso drinks. Friendly service and cool bar made out of wood. – A Google User (March 2012)